opera^gal's story

If you want to share the detailed saga of your braces story, this is the place to do it. You can use this forum as a braces journal, editing and updating your posts as your treatment goes on. Remember to also visit the main ArchWired.com site for additional stories from other readers!

ATTENTION NEW MEMBERS: Do not post full-face photos or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

opera^gal

opera^gal's story

#1 Post by opera^gal »

Hi everyone! I've been reading the site for a while now, and gleening lots of really helpful information both pre/post braces application. Figured it was time say 'hello' and add my story to the pool...as the water looks fine!

I'll begin by explaining my nickname: I am a professional opera singer and I work all over the USA and abroad. Getting braces was a big decision, not only to correct my various bite issues and grinding, but not knowing how it would/could effect my career.

It's been a bit like "The Amazing Case of Benjamin Button" lately for me. Experiencing an adult tonsilectomy (zero fun as lactose intolerant so no ice cream!), and wearing a hawley-style retainer/biteguard for a few years to attempt to correct the grinding. Each new thing seemed to regress my age a few more years, much to my older siblings delight. The teasing still has not stopped. When my dentist suggested I get an orthodontic consult for braces as a 'last resort before implants', I was horrified.