Cleaning Hawley Retainer w/ Solder Joints

If you have finished with your orthodontic treatment and are wearing retainers (or will be soon), this is a special place to connect with others in your (enviable) situation. Ask a question or make a comment about life post-braces.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Dobby

Cleaning Hawley Retainer w/ Solder Joints

#1 Post by Dobby »

Hello everyone.

I posted this previously in the wrong place, so I'm going to try again. Sorry about the mistake. I'm a newbie.

I am trying to learn about care for Hawley Dental Retainers with Solder joints.

I have had this type of retainer for years. I soaked it every day in efferdent for several hours, and wore it at night. It didn't seem to be a problem. Recently, my dental hygienist sterilized it. Then, when I soaked it in efferdent, the solder joints had a green substance on them. Within a few days, two of the joints fell off.

Today, my orthodontist ordered me a new retainer. I was reading about cleaning retainers. Some people say efferdent doesn’t work well with solder joints. My orthodontist gives out free samples of “retainer brite” but it isn’t recommended for solder joints.

I plan to ask his advise when I go back and pick up my new retainer in about a month. I am open to any input from you folks.

Thanks,
Dobby

Bullfighter

Re: Cleaning Hawley Retainer w/ Solder Joints

#2 Post by Bullfighter »

I was told to clean the solder joints with an emery board to brighten them.

bbsadmin

#3 Post by bbsadmin »

He doesn't mean brightening them. He means trying to make sure that the solder joints don't crumble and fall apart.

As I mentioned in the other post.....

You cannot soak a retainer that has solder. Any soaking liquid will crumble the solder joints over time.

Many times, the piece that is soldered on is an "extra afterthought." You need to ask your orthodontist if this is the case. It's possible that you can get the retainer made without the metal solder.