Extractions, nervous

Introduce yourself, say a few words, show us your website, etc. Include detailed personal information at your own risk. This board takes no responsibility for contact that results from you posting your personal information. Fetish postings, and detailed information regarding readers under age 18 will be removed promptly.

Moderator: bbsadmin

clh5086

Extractions, nervous

#1 Post by clh5086 »

Hi everyone. I’m new. This is my first post here. I’ve had ceramic braces since November and was quoted 18 months. My orthodontist and I were on the same page the whole time: that my teeth would be straight but my bite wouldn’t be perfect without extractions, but at my age, 31, it wasn’t worth it to extract so we would go for “better” not perfect.

At my last adjustment the ortho decided to revisit the idea of extractions. He said I’ve been wearing elastics for 2 months now and there won’t be much more movement. So I need to decide whether to have 3 extractions (not 4 because I had an impacted molar taken out with my wisdom teeth at age 15) or to decide that I’m happy with my teeth being straight but my bite being off. He did an updated x-ray and told me it’s completely up to me. I’d have to have the braces on another year - year and a half, at no extra cost, to close the extraction gaps.

I have a 6mm overjet. I could not afford jaw surgery and I have no insurance. I’m not happy with my overjet but I am worried about the possibility of my face sinking in or looking ugly after extractions because I’ve been reading a lot online about it. Does anyone have any advice or personal stories about extractions?

Thank you!

Nabba786r

Re: Extractions, nervous

#2 Post by Nabba786r »