It's day 2 in braces, when will I stop hating it?

Introduce yourself, say a few words, show us your website, etc. Include detailed personal information at your own risk. This board takes no responsibility for contact that results from you posting your personal information. Fetish postings, and detailed information regarding readers under age 18 will be removed promptly.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Krissytina

It's day 2 in braces, when will I stop hating it?

#1 Post by Krissytina »

I'm 32 and just got Damon clears on my upper teeth and Damon metal on my lowers. I know I will adjust, but right now I'm SO regretting this! The clear braces look chunky and awkward and I can't figure out how to hold my mouth. I have giant crowns on my back molars that some kind of arm is going to attach to, and the crowns hold my mouth open-- none of my teeth contact each other. I'm a school teacher and my students are obsessed with my braces... they love the speech impediment I have now! I just hate it all right now. My treatment time is supposed to be two years. Can anyone give me some insight on how long it will be until I stop hating it?

Also, anyone have experience with the arm thing? It sounds just awful :( Hoping someone can tell me I'm wrong

EmilyTravels

Re: It's day 2 in braces, when will I stop hating it?

#2 Post by EmilyTravels »

I'm not sure about the arm, but I have crowns on all my molars. On my first appointment, I got brackets (self-ligating like Damon but a different brand) on all teeth but my molars w/crowns. Second appointment, they roughed up my crowns a little and put end brackets on each of the six-year molars (none on the 12-year). I just have normal wires that plug into these, so not sure what yours will be like, but for me, the crown brackets were no big deal at all.