April 18 Surgery Buddies...

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

RachF

April 18 Surgery Buddies...

#1 Post by RachF »

I finally have my surgery date for 20th April 18, anyone else with an April date want to join me?

I am having Lefort 1, BSSO and possibly Genio (I think) so top jaw up, lower jaw forwards and possibly chin work.

Punakmouth

Re: April 18 Surgery Buddies...

#2 Post by Punakmouth »

My surgery is scheduled for May 8th. I haven't had my CT Scan yet or my pre-op but I will join you!

runrabbitrun

#3 Post by runrabbitrun »

I don't yet have a surgery date set in stone just yet (waiting on the hospital, of all things), but should be booked early-to-mid April!

I believe I'm getting a Lefort 1 and BSSO; primarily to resolve severe obstructive sleep apnea. I've been fighting my health insurance for coverage for the past two months, so I'm pretty stoked that it's finally been approved!

PierreDeFermat

#4 Post by PierreDeFermat »

Do you need any CCW rotation or a genioplasty? Both will dramatically improve lower third strength if you have any mandibular deficiency.

runrabbitrun

#5 Post by runrabbitrun »

[quote=PierreDeFermat post_id=501022 time=1521392381 user_id=31191]
Do you need any CCW rotation or a genioplasty? Both will dramatically improve lower third strength if you have any mandibular deficiency.
[/quote]

Yes, definitely CCW rotation - my surgeon said this would yield the best result for both airway advancement and aesthetics. Based on my CT scans, he said a genioplasty wouldn't be necessary for opening up the airway more, so I'm assuming that would be solely for aesthetics, if we decided to go that route. We'll be reviewing the virtual surgical plan images at my next appointment, so I think it'll be helpful to see what he expects the result will be without one, and then move forward from there.

runrabbitrun

#6 Post by runrabbitrun »