Post surgery lisp

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Nate01

Post surgery lisp

#1 Post by Nate01 »

Hello,

I'm roughly 2 weeks after surger and I had a lisp to be blunt, I didn't before hand but I do now. I had double jaw surgery and now most of the swelling has gone down but there is still some left and half of my bottom lip is still numb. I'm a test engineer so a part of my job is talking to customer about why or what has failed with there product so I'd like to put off soundlibf like Daffy Duck as best I can :lol: basically I was just wondering if anyone else had this peoblem and if it went away ? Stayed ? Or what ?

Kind regards, Nate

Jawbreak

Re: Post surgery lisp

#2 Post by Jawbreak »

Do you still have rubber bands holding your teeth together? I know I had a pretty significant lisp when I had my rubber bands on, but now that I'm allowed to take them off during the day, it's MUCH better. I still have a very slight lisp but nobody hears it but me apparently. Also, is the gum/palate part right behind your upper front teeth numb? Mine was very numb and I feel like it contributed to the lisp because the tip of my tongue didn't know where to position itself and I couldn't tell if I was making contact at all when saying "s" and "z" sounds. The numbness is almost gone now (2 months post-op). There is still a narrow margin behind the teeth that is numb, but most of it seems to be back.

I was actually thinking of going to a speech therapist if it doesn't fully go away (just for my sake, and also because I was always terrible at enunciating even before the surgery, so two birds one stone), but honestly, it's definitely almost gone and no one notices it, so I don't feel like it's a requisite at this point. Hopefully it'll get better for you too!

Also, trust me, at 2 weeks, it feels like most swelling is down, but there is so much more to go haha.