7 Day Post-Op Report and Pictures

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

rty7186

7 Day Post-Op Report and Pictures

#1 Post by rty7186 »

Hello all! It's been 7 days since I had an lower jaw advancement of 8mm and a genioplasty advancement of 3mm. My lower jaw was actually overcorrected so as of now my front teeth are on top of each other. I still have some spacing so my teeth will fall right into place once the spacing is gone. I posted some pics at the address below so I hope you can see them. If not please let me know so I can correct it. I've never used flickr before.

All is well on this end. I've had no pain since I've been home which was Tuesday the 2nd, surgery was the 1st. I did continue to take the serious pain killers only to be on the safe side. I didn't want to wake up in the middle of the night with a throbbing jaw so I played it safe. I stopped taking those meds on Friday because I figured the worst pain would be over and now the healing would begin. So far, so good. I continue to take my antibiotics but should be done with those within a day. Take them every 6 hours. I can brush my teeth and also rinse 3/4 times a day with an oral rinse I was provided.

As of today I've lost 6 lbs within the week. Sometimes it's so hard to find something to eat. I get tired of cream of wheat, pudding, mashed potatoes, etc. I need some substance!! I go to the oral surgeon on Wednesday so we will see what he says about my dietary restrictions. I can currently open my jaw 22mm. Don't know if that's good or not.