Foods to avoid?

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Cowans2

Foods to avoid?

#1 Post by Cowans2 »

Hi,
I'm new to braces (2 weeks in) and just starting to progress beyond my smoothie/soup diet again. Ordered a grilled cheese today and discovered to my chagrin that this wasn't a good choice as all the gooey cheese got stuck in the brackets and took forever to get out.
Wondering if there are any other pitfalls that I should be aware of? as in foods to avoid?
I know about the hard candy/popcorn/corn on cob, but anything else that's a total pain? I'd love to know.
Thanks!

Tobilei

Re: Foods to avoid?

#2 Post by Tobilei »

Mango is an absolute nightmare. It leaves invisible strings of weirdness that you cannot get to unwind from your brackets.

Spinach/lettuce/kale. It's bad cooked, but raw in a salad, a thousand times worse!!

Special K-turns to superglue in your brackets. Needs dynamite to blast it out of there.

Hmm I know there's more but I can't think of them right now.