orthodontic treatment in another city

This is the place to post general questions and comments about all areas of orthodontic treatment. Before you post a question, use the forum's SEARCH tool to see if your question has already been answered!

New Members: YOU MUST MAKE A POST WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REGISTERING OR YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED. In other words, don't sign up unless you plan to actively participate in the message board immediately. This is necessary to keep out spammers and lurkers with bad intentions. Of course, you can read most forums on the board without registering.

DO NOT POST FULL-FACE PHOTOS or personal contact information on this website. We have had problems with people re-posting members' photos on fetish websites. Please only post photos of your teeth, not your whole face. Keep your email and your personal information private. Thank you.

Moderator: bbsadmin

ravencarn

orthodontic treatment in another city

#1 Post by ravencarn »

Hi,

I am new to this message board, but I would like input on a certain situation.

I need to get braces, and was also recommended to get jaw surgery, which I am not sure about as I do not have insurance now, nor will I for a while, and I would really like to get started on the braces.

I now live in Brooklyn, NY, but my father is telling me that I should get an orthodontist 5 hours upstate, where it would be much cheaper.

Although I 'd love to pay less, doesn't it seem like a bad idea in case of emergency situations, wires poking out etc.? I would hate to have to take the 5 hr Greyhound ride in the midst of a painful situation.

I am also wondering if anyone has had experience with functional appliances, which was my original orthodontic treatment. As I was not a very happy, or responsible adolescent, I didn't wear it enough, and I don't think I finished the treatment. Now they tell me I'll have to have 4 teeth removed anyway.

Any input would be helpful.

Thank You,

A

rsprouse

#2 Post by rsprouse »

Hi,