Help! Non-native English speaker with lingual!

Discussions relating to Lingual Braces (behind-the-teeth) only, such as iBraces and LingualCare.

Moderator: bbsadmin

orange

Help! Non-native English speaker with lingual!

#1 Post by orange »

Hello, everybody.

I am new here. I have some crowding on both my upper and lower teeth, and have been thinking of braces for years. What has held me back is that, I am a university professor but not a native English speaker. You can imagin how important both my speech and my appearances are for my job. Plus, I do a lot of seminars at other universities and need to talk contantly to senior research fellows in my field. I have been visiting this board quite frequently before I decided to go for lingual. There seem to be many positive lingual wearers on this board. Reading their experiences gave me a lot of encouragement and confidence.

I finally decided to go for lingual. I got 8 molar bands last week. I did not have any speech problem when I got off the chair. I sounded perfectly fine to myself. However, yesterday I went to lunch with a senior colleague of mine. I started to lisp heavily after 20 minutes of talking to her! It was embarrassing...But I think, OK, I can cope with this by practicing more and keep my energy high...

But things have become hopeless after I got my upper lingual today. I had a horrible lisp the moment I got off the chair, kept lisping the whole day. Not until I talk to another senior fellow in my department this evening, did I realized my speech is horrible!

What scares me is that, I sound much better in my native language (almost perfect), which is what many have been saying on this board. But I really sound horrible in English. I guess things are more difficult for non-native english speakers since we had already some accents. I am seriously worried that this lisp will not go away.