Linguinal braces

Discussions relating to Lingual Braces (behind-the-teeth) only, such as iBraces and LingualCare.

Moderator: bbsadmin

Dee

Linguinal braces

#1 Post by Dee »

Hi, first posting on the forum. I was wondering if any members have experience of using linguinal braces, and if so what they thought of them. I am waiting for my initial assessment appointment with the orthodontist and this is an option I want to ask her about. I work in healthcare and feel really difficult about the prospect of dealing with the public all day with a very visible metal brace.

JessicaInCanada

#2 Post by JessicaInCanada »

I'm a healthcare worker with ceramic tops and metal bottoms.
Most people don't even realize I have them, and I see tons of people in a day.

bbsadmin

Lingual Braces

#3 Post by bbsadmin »

Sorry Dee, just can't resist and have to interject.....

Linguinal braces.....go best with red clam sauce and a nice crusty bread! :jokerlaugh:

OK, now seriously... it's lingual braces. :wink: I know there are a few readers on this board who have them, and hopefully you'll hear from a few!

There is one reader in our ArchWired photo gallery who has a lingual story:

http://www.archwired.com/Photos-Philipp.htm
I'm the owner/admin of this site. Had ceramic uppers, metal lowers ~3 years in my early 40's. Now in Hawley retainers at night!

Smileybrace

#4 Post by Smileybrace »

I have linguals on right now.
At first I thought I'd made a huge mistake. I'm not gonna lie to you...they really feel weird. Not only that but I had such a hard time talking at first. I'd say my lisping is pretty much gone; I sometimes do it when I'm tired, maybe towards the end of the day, but for the most part I can talk fairly normally now.
Brushing is a new challenge too, since you must concentrate tremendously on the back sides of your teeth.
I'd say there are 2 big plus sides:
1. You don't have to deal with the soreness of your cheeks since the braces are not rubbing on them.