Feeling a little discouraged....need Ibraces Support

Discussions relating to Lingual Braces (behind-the-teeth) only, such as iBraces and LingualCare.

Moderator: bbsadmin

lmccl0

Feeling a little discouraged....need Ibraces Support

#1 Post by lmccl0 »

Hello there. Fairly new to the forum and I'm looking for some moral support. I am fairly new to Ibraces - Lowers on February 20, 2008 and Uppers on March 11, 2008. I'm also getting an extraction tomorrow (April 1, 2008).
So far it's been up and down. Not much pain when I got the lowers on. All of my pain was in my tongue and the wax and Oralgel helped there. Adjusting to speech on the lowers was a breeze. Then came the uppers. :cry: More pain - my teeth were VERY sensitive to the touch of anything hot or cold. And I'm having a harder time adjusting my speech. I have good days but then it's like I have little relapses too. My tongue hurts and I struggle a little bit with my speech. VERY embarrassing. Also, when in the hell will a be able to eat a sandwich again? Or a big cheeseburger??? Right now I'm still on the soft stuff because it's awkward.
Did anyone else experience this? When does it end? I feel like I'm the only person still having speech problems three weeks in!! Nothing major but I definitely feel like I'm still slurring and that I have to slow down when I speak - which is hard for a woman who is use to talking a LOT!
Encouragement?

lionfish

#2 Post by lionfish »

Hang in there, it does get better and eating a sandwich/burger is in your not too distant future.

I would suggest you try eating harder foods from hereon in. The sooner you do this, the easier it will get.

lmccl0

#3 Post by lmccl0 »

Thanks lionfish!

How did your speech adjust when you got your linguals? Did you have a harder time with uppers versus lowers?

lionfish

#4 Post by lionfish »

I only had upper linguals (went ceramics on the bottom).