My Case (w/ pics)..Update!!

This forum is for discussions relating to oral surgery for orthodontics.

Moderator: bbsadmin

tortor

My Case (w/ pics)..Update!!

#1 Post by tortor »

Hello everyone!

I'm still pretty much a newbie here so I thought I would introduce myself and show you a few pics. :)

First off, my name is Tori and I'm 19 years old. This process could have started a couple of years ago for me, but because I was stupid and decided I didnt want to have braces for my brothers wedding, summer trips to croatia, senior pictures, prom, or the beginning of college (the list could go on...lol), I'm doing this whole thing now.

I've been in braces close to 4 months already and I have no idea when I'll be ready for surgery. I'm still awaiting an answer from my insurance company, and my OS, although he is wonderful, is seemingly always on vacation! So needless to say, my lack of answers as to if the surgery is going to be covered and what procedures I am having done has been a little more than frusterating.

anyway, here is a picture of my bite and my profile. I apologize for the crappy quality! I took them with my cell phone. I have an underbite as well as an underdeveloped upper jaw.

I would appreciate if anyone felt like sharing their opinion as to whether I should be expecting a double jaw procedure, or if i could get away with just doing top jaw. I'm hoping for just a upper jaw surgery (so i dont have to be wired shut!) and contemplating a rhinoplasty as well.

hope everyone has a great day (or night!)
-Tori
Last edited by tortor on Fri May 16, 2008 8:09 am, edited 2 times in total.

phil

#2 Post by phil »

tortor,

Only a competent team can tell you whether or not you need double as opposed to single surgery. There also is a possibility of mandibular setback alone, often coupled with a genioplasty to balance the face.

Either way, it looks like you could have a great result with teeth like that! Good luck!
There are no ordinary moments.