can you brush your teeth too much?

Love your electric toothbrush? Hate that yucky mouthwash? Can't live without that terrific threader floss? Got a fave canker sore remedy? Here's where you can post your opinions and reviews of specific products relating to dental hygiene and your braces. Tell others what works....and what doesn't!

Moderator: bbsadmin

equaeternal

can you brush your teeth too much?

#1 Post by equaeternal »

Hi everyone,
I'm new to being a brace-face. I just got mine on about two weeks ago. I just had a quick question. Can you brush too much? I mean can it actually hurt your teeth if you do? I push after everytime I eat which adds up to be about 5-6 times a day. I just don't want to get those white spotes after the braces come off.

Thanks for the help :)

Snowglobe32

#2 Post by Snowglobe32 »

In my opinion, 3-4 times a day should be good. Morning, after lunch, after dinner, and before bed.

You wouldn't want to take the enamel off by extra brushing. And believe me, dental supplies cost a fortune over time. I have had my braces for 10 months and I go through so much floss, toothpaste and mouthwash... I wish I'd kept every receipt!

Lisa43947

can you brush too much?

#3 Post by Lisa43947 »

When I got my braces on in January 2009 my otho told me to brush 6 times a day. I've never brushed that many times a day. In the beginning I brushed maybe 4 but now, a year and a half later, I'm brushing just twice a day. My ortho and dentist both say my teeth are clean, so I'm not worrying. I do brush my teeth for about two minutes each time I brush to make sure I get all of the surfaces.

hypocrite opportunist

#4 Post by hypocrite opportunist »

Brushing six times a day might be a tad excessive. I brushed multiple times a day when I was younger, and the dentist told me I was "thinning" my teeth and taking the enamel off. Now I brush for three minutes (morning and evening) and just rinse my mouth out well, and maybe floss, after other meals and snacks.