Hello!

Discussions about treatment with invisible braces that use clear aligners, such as Invisalign, OrthoClear, the Red White and Blue system, etc.

Moderator: bbsadmin

MunchkinLand

Hello!

#1 Post by MunchkinLand »

Newbie here, just want to introduce myself. My name is Cyn. I'm 25 and just officially starting my ortho journey. I was supposed to get braces as a teen, even had a consult but for whatever reason, it just didn't happen. Now as an adult, its become a self conscious issue. Something I have wanted to fix for a while but with 3 kiddos, never had the money till now.

Last month I got all my dental work done (fillings and a cleaning) then had a consult with the ortho at that practice. Got all set for braces and when I went in to get them, the Ortho took a look at my Xrays, did a visual exam and took an additional xray and told me he does not have the tools he needs for the reccomended treatment.

I was diagnosed with an open bite, ectopic canines with crowding due to wisdom teeth and a rotated upper jaw. He reccomended surgery. Which I could not afford. Then he said another option would be a TAD but thats what he could not do. He reccomended I consult with a strictly orthodontal office, so I dod and I am SO glad I chose a great one!

I went in on Monday for my new consult/2nd opinion and the guy said I can basically toss the other guys treatment reccomendations in the trash.